What are the eight types of fasts according to Imam Hanafi?

Find answers
  1. Specified obligatory fasts: the current month of Ramadan.
  2. Non-specified obligatory fasts: making up fasts from a past Ramadan and expiation fasts.
  3. Specified necessary (wajib) fasts: specified vowed fasts.
  4. Non-specified necessary (wajib) fasts: non-specified vowed fasts.
  5. Emphasized Sunnah fasts: 10th of Muharram (day of ‘Ashura) along with the 9th.
  6. Recommended/Voluntary (nafl) fasts: 13th, 14th, 15th of each lunar month (full moon days).
  7. Prohibitively disliked (makrooh tahrimi): fasting the two Eids.
  8. Slightly disliked (makrooh tanzihi): fasting the 10th of Muharram without the 9th or the 11th days, or singling out a Saturday for fasting.