Majlis Al-Shura

The Shura is elected for a three year term by the members of the Islamic Association of Raleigh. The IAR Constitution and Bylaws describes the functioning of the Islamic Association of Raleigh and the various rights and responsibilities of the general members, the Shura, the Board of Directors and the Executive Committees.

The Shura comprises a group elected from the general body to appoint, oversee, guide, and direct the work of the committees. The Shura members elect a Chairman, a Vice-Chairman and a Secretary to help them implement their duties towards the organization.

The Shura meetings are held on second Sundays of every month from 2:00 PM to 4:00 PM in Conference Room #240 at the Islamic Center of Raleigh. These meetings are open to community members to observe and attend. Meetings typically have a specific agenda with follow-up items from previous meetings and new items.

Once the Shura approves the meeting minutes, they are posted on this website for the purpose of full disclosure and openness to the community members.


Members of Majlis Al-Shura for 2015-2017

Name Phone Email
Mohamed ElGamal
Chairperson
919-834-9572 ext 1349 mohamedelgamal@islam1.org
Hassan Imam
Vice-Chairperson
919-469-4626 hassan.s.imam@gmail.com
Tanzeel Chohan
Secretary
919-749-9483 tbadar@gmail.com
Mohamed AbuTaleb
Imam
919-834-9572 ext 1357 imam@islam1.org
Samy Abdel-Baky 919-233-6622 samy.abdelbaky@gmail.com
Hesham Abdel-Baky 919-961-0926 hesham@nc.rr.com
Munir Abdullah 919-834-9572 ext 1338 munirabdullah@islam1.org
Mohammad Ali 919-264-3233 sprawn@gmail.com
Mohammad Baloch 919-781-7300 mhbaloch@msn.com
Muamar Dahnoun 919-834-9572 ext 1344 muamardahnoun@gmail.com
Kent (Shahid) Fullenweider 919-372-7262 fummie@aol.com
Shaheda Maroof 919-788-8827 msmaroof@gmail.com
Osama Said 919-749-1222 osama@nc.rr.com
Rashid Salahat 919-357-3811 security@islam1.org
Hisham Sarsour 919-656-4006 hishamsarsour@cs.com
Abrar Sattar 919-624-5297 treasurer@islam1.org
Adilah Shabazz 919-455-5776 adilahshabazz@hotmail.com
Nouman Siddiqui   nouman2020@gmail.com
Ahmad Zaitoun 919-272-6546 amzaitoun@gmail.com
Jalees Afzal 919-326-9537 Jalees.afzal@islam1.org
Mateen Akhtar 919-605-1771 akhtar.mateen@gmail.com